Giveaways


Winners Choice
ends 5.31

May 24, 2017

Loved It: Sin Eater by @JenHarlowBooks #urbanfantasy #romance

Series: F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad Investigation
Format: Mobi
Release Date: May 23, 2017
Publisher: Devil on the Left Books
Source: Author
Genre: Urban Fantasy

The long anticipated installment of the best-selling and critically acclaimed F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad series is finally here…

CLASSIFIED: The Exiled F.R.E.A.K.

What’s a F.R.E.A.K. to do after all her hopes and dreams literally died in front of her? Telekinetic Beatrice Alexander went from flying around the country in a private jet, saving innocent lives from monstrous threats to living in her grandmother’s house, playing video games and drinking too much. Directionless, hiding from her problems and trauma, she will do anything not to confront her deadly actions that fateful night in North Carolina three months before. Any distraction will do.

Enter Lord Connor McInnis.

Drawn to the sexy, powerful ruler of San Diego, Beatrice soon loses herself in the passion and luxury of the vampire’s world. But when she finds herself caught in the middle of a centuries old vampire rivalry, Beatrice must decide: how far is she willing to go for those she loves…and for herself?




It's been a while since I've read book 4 of Jennifer Harlow's F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad Investigation series and I don't recall any of the books being as dark and angst-ridden as SIN EATER. Without giving away too much of the plot, High Moon (book 4) ended tragically which explains why Beatrice Alexander is such a hot mess and hard to like for the most part.  

May 22, 2017

.@GizmosReviews Loved: Sawbones by @MelLenhardt ‏#Historical #Western #Romance

Series: Laura Elliston 1
Format: Kindle E-Book | 432 pages
Release Date: April 11, 2017
Publisher: Redhook
Source: Amazon
Genre: Historical | Westerns

Outlander meets post-Civil War unrest in this fast-paced historical debut.


When Dr. Catherine Bennett is wrongfully accused of murder, she knows her fate likely lies with a noose unless she can disappear. Fleeing with a bounty on her head, she escapes with her maid to the uncharted territories of Colorado to build a new life with a new name. Although the story of the murderess in New York is common gossip, Catherine's false identity serves her well as she fills in as a temporary army doctor. But in a land unknown, so large and yet so small, a female doctor can only hide for so long.




SAWBONES is the first installment in author Melissa Lenhardt's Laura Elliston trilogy. This is a series that is set in 1871 and it begins in NYC where Dr. Catherine Bennett has struggled for years to gain a foothold in a male dominated world. She's fought tooth and nail and has done things that no male would ever dream of doing. After being attacked by an unknown assailant, Catherine learns from her best friend James that she is being accused of killing one of her patients.

James, who may be her only friend outside of her maid, and a madam at a whore house, suggests strongly that she leave NYC, which she does alongside her maid Maureen O'Reilly. As Catherine & Maureen make their way to Texas, she learns that the west is desperate for doctors and that there is a $500 reward for her capture hanging over her head. Catherine, now Laura Elliston, joins a wagon train heading for Colorado, and that, my friends, is where things get really dicey, really ugly, and especially dark. 

May 19, 2017

.@GizmosReviews Liked: If I Run by @TerriBlackstock @Zondervan #Mystery #Suspense

Series: If I Run 1
Format: Paperback | 305 pages
Release Date: February 16, 2016
Publisher: Zondervan
Source: Publisher
Genre: Mystery | Suspense
Casey knows the truth.

But it won’t set her free.
Casey Cox’s DNA is all over the crime scene. There’s no use talking to police; they have failed her abysmally before. She has to flee before she’s arrested . . . or worse. The truth doesn’t matter anymore.

But what is the truth? That’s the question haunting Dylan Roberts, the war-weary veteran hired to find Casey. PTSD has marked him damaged goods, but bringing Casey back can redeem him. Though the crime scene seems to tell the whole story, details of the murder aren’t adding up. Casey Cox doesn’t fit the profile of a killer. But are Dylan’s skewed perceptions keeping him from being objective? If she isn’t guilty, why did she run?

Unraveling her past and the evidence that condemns her will take more time than he has, but as Dylan’s damaged soul intersects with hers, he is faced with two choices. The girl who occupies his every thought is a psychopathic killer . . . or a selfless hero. And the truth could be the most deadly weapon yet.




IF I RUN is the first installment in new to me author Teri Blackstock's If I Run trilogy. The story follows two characters: Casey Cox and Dylan Roberts. The author actually alternatives narratives between the two, and it's in the first person format. Casey is a woman who is between a rock and a hart place. After discovering her best friend Brent Pace dead, she chooses to run, instead of facing the justice system. Dylan, an army veteran with PTSD, is hired by Brent's parents to track Casey down and bring her back to face justice.

What's pretty obvious to me is that Casey did the correct thing when she decided to run and not look back. Without going into spoiler-y territory, Casey's past plays a huge role in what happens in this book. Casey is far from stupid in fact, she's quite smart at most of the things she does here. I say most, because Casey is the sort of person who doesn't like to turn a blind eye to injustices she sees even if her actions could come back to haunt her. After all, she's on the run. She is supposed to keep her head down while she tries to figure out a way to save herself.

May 16, 2017

Loved It: Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish

Series: The Adventures of Owl 3
Format: eGalley
Release Date: May 8, 2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Urban Fantasy
The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.



If you like:

  • NON-STOP ACTION: Kristi Charish's The Adventure of Owl series is packed. You'll be breathless from all the running, hair splitting near-misses, and formidable foes Owl continues to encounter for three books so far. OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI is just a thrilling as the others as Owl tries to out maneuver elves, game masters, mercenaries, and a naga among other things. And if I don't know any better, I think Captain bestowed some of his lives to Owl. She's had that many close encounters and if not for her quick thinking, my favorite antiquities thief won't be alive anymore;