Giveaways


Winners Choice
ends 5.31

May 3, 2017

Tiffany Reisz, You Wicked Mistress!



Oh Tiffany Reisz, the world of romance novels wouldn't be the same without you! More importantly, WHAT HAS YOUR WICKED BRAIN AND PEN (or keyboard) DONE TO ME!!! 

This review is overdue but as always, the words are taken out of my brain post-reading a TReisz novel. In this case it's a double dead kind of situation as I read THE BOURBON THIEF and THE NIGHT MARK back to back. My digital floor is cluttered with crumpled pieces of e-paper what with the number of drafts I wrote before I finally managed to organize a coherent string of thoughts for this post that should've gone live a month ago.

Let me start with THE NIGHT MARK (4 Cauldrons), a fantasy time travel romance novel in the vein of Outlander and Somewhere in Time. The novel have a simple plot, a complex conflict, and a clever conclusion. How does one achieve happily ever after with someone who lived and died decades after you were born? Try drowning yourself by an old, abandoned, crumbling lighthouse and pray that that does the trick! 

THE NIGHT MARK is a quick read for me simply because I'm motivated to know how TReisz is going to pull the HEA off. Suffice to say she pulled it off brilliantly. My only disappointment is that this is a standalone.


Then there's THE BOURBON THIEF (5 Cauldrons). Oh boy, where do I begin?! A family saga rife with intrigue, scandals, heartbreaks several despicable acts all in the name of bourbon. 

THE BOURBON THIEF is such an addicting read, the storytelling style simply enthralling, and the plot is nothing short of captivating. It's impossible not to devour this book and be swept away by the history of Kentucky royalty, The Maddoxes and their infamous Red Thread.

I said this a few years ago and I'll say it again: Tiffany Reisz is this generation's Anne Rice IMHO. Her stories are always captivating whether it's a lighthearted romance, a family saga, or kinky basterds who enjoys sex more than the average person. Her Original Sinners are as mesmerizing like those iconic vampires led by Lestat and the Maddoxes reminds me of Rice's Mayfairs. Like Rice, TReisz not only gives you feels, it also leaves you thinking. TReisz will pluck you from your reading comfort zone and plop you into a new and sometimes awkwardly delightful space. A lot of writers can have you suspending disbelief, but it's the truly gifted ones that can add a flair of whimsy to the most unbelievable of situations and have you wishing at that moment of reading that you're life is like that of the character you're reading. 








Talk Supe


22 comments:

  1. I think this one would be a better fit for me than her other books

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read the second one yet but I absolutely adored The Bourbon Thief, it was so..unique and suspenseful and dark, loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Was just saying I need to read one of her books :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really need to try this author!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I may need to try her again. Wow! Hopefully I'll have a stronger reaction second go around :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. You make Bourbon Thief very tempting. :-)
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read her yet but I keep meaning to.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh man, they left you incoherent? That's great news for me. I've already got them on the list, but this has me extra excited. Great 'coherent' review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. These both sound awesome! I haven't read any of her books, and I feel like I've been missing out!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have both of these on my pile. Thanks for making me move them up Braine!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I don't know if I can handle her books lol

    I know I an't read The Original Sinners series but maybe something else will be a better fit.

    For What It's Worth

    ReplyDelete
  12. Wow, high praise! I've heard great things and Bourbon Thief takes place in KY so that automatically has me excited. :)

    -Lauren
    www.letsgetbeyondtolerance.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. IMG yes, Bourbon Street made my top ten last year and I loved the Night Mark as well! I do have the first two Sinners books.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have both of these. I guess I'll have to give them a shot, most of the people I trust seem to really like these two.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Rice's Mayfair series is one of my oldest favorites so I definitely need to check these books out. I'm so glad I saw your review for them because everything you described would draw me to these books. I had no idea that their vibe was similar!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I haven't read her but my roomie at RT LURVES her :) I will try her some day when I am in the mood and probably this series :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. The woman does have a way with the words and pen...wicked review!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Yes! All the feels for all her words, Braine! She truly is a masterful writer, and no matter what she writes, she pulls me in from the very first page.
    Amazing review! <3
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

    ReplyDelete
  19. Haha, love the title. Sounds like a great series! :D Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Your sentence about your digital floor is brill. Not sure these books are for me (only because I tried to read outlander this year and had to DNF it oops)

    ReplyDelete
  21. I haven't read either of these, but now I know I should! I love the Original Sinners series!

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!