Giveaways


COMING SOON...

May 16, 2016

Loved It: The Daughters of Red Hill Hall by Kathleen McGurl

Series: Standalone
Format: eGalley
Release Date: April 14, 2016
Publisher: Carina Press
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Historical/Contemporary Mystery

When Gemma discovers a pair of ancient duelling pistols encrusted with rubies in the basement of the local museum, she is immediately intrigued…

On a fateful night in 1838 two sisters were found shot in the cellars of Red Hill Hall. And when Gemma begins to delve deeper into their history she begins to realise that the secrets of that night are darker than anyone had ever imagined.

As the shocking events of the past begin to unravel, Gemma’s own life starts to fall apart. Loyalties are tested and suddenly it seems as if history is repeating itself, as Gemma learns that female friendships can be deadly…

Perfect for fans of The Emerald Comb, The Pearl Locket, Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.




THE DAUGHTERS OF RED HILL HALL is a riveting women's lit mystery that will definitely role you up. The blurb says it all so I won't expound on the plot further because it's formulaic and if I say more I'm afraid I'll spoil the story for you. 

And boy was I seething the entire time I was reading this Kathleen McGurl novel! The "sibling" rivalry between Rebecca and Sarah (they've been brought up as sisters) is off the charts and by some twist of fate, Gemma and Nat'a friendship are showing similar cracks as Gemma investigates what happened at Red Hill Hall two centuries ago.

If you like dark tales then you'll find this book familiar like we've seen this level of treachery, rivalry, and bitch fight so many times it's a classic plot device. Like I know what's going to happen but it didn't feel spoilery, the plot is very potent and I still got affected by the whole thing! Told in alternating timelines THE DAUGHTERS OF RED HILL is a quick and rich piece of literature. I can't wait for my next romp with this author, there's an excerpt for the next book in the end and it certainly piqued my curiosity. 










Talk Supe


13 comments:

  1. Braine I do love these kinds of tales although I have to admit that I need to be in the right frame of mind for one. Thanks for putting this in front of me!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't even tell you when the last time was I read one of these and this sounds fantastic. I will definitely keep it in mind.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nice. I like that there's an alternating timeline. I really like books with that format. And the story sounds kind of crazy - in a good way.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It's nice to see you had a nice time with this one! it's the first time I hear about it

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ohh this is new to me. creepy

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love the mystery and the history. Maybe. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. This is one I could easily slip into, i am going to see if it is on audio!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This looks like one I would enjoy. I wonder why they dueled?
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  9. You know I like dark books Braine!! :D

    ReplyDelete
  10. Once in a while, this is a type of book I find riveting. A dark mystery like this told in two times definitely is a draw.

    ReplyDelete
  11. This sounds dark and thrilling, Braine! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! <3

    ReplyDelete
  12. The alternating timelines sounds interesting and with how what's happening now is sorta similar to what happens int he past. I like some dark tales, it often depends on how the book is dark. It does sound like a suspenseful read!

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!