Giveaways


Coming soon...

January 20, 2016

A Shot of YA: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Series: TBA
Format: eGalley
Release Date: January 26, 2016
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: YA Paranormal

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.



RIVETING.

Breezy remembers leaving the party: the warm, wet grass under her feet, her cheek still stinging from a slap to her face. But when she wakes up, scared and pulling dirt from her mouth, a year has passed and she can’t explain how.

Nor can she explain the man lying at her grave, dead from her touch, or why her heartbeat comes and goes. She doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past.

That's the jacket copy blurb by the way and that's essentially chapter one of Keli Wallace's SHALLOW GRAVES. So how can you not keep reading when you want to know WTH happened to Breezy and what kind of... monster is she?

It's such an interesting tale. SHALLOW GRAVES is told from Breezy's POV so we're taken on this journey where she hitchhikes, kills killers, while trying to figure out what she is, how she died, and if there are others like her. Although the setting has a rural feel to it, the world resembles your usual Urban Fantasy series, dark, lots of hunting and chasing, monsters like ghouls, serial killers, clawed boys, hunters, and other ambiguous creatures. That said, the world is undefined, as if KWallace is still forming it, as if this emergence of monsters is in the cusp of coming out of the shadows and causing havoc among humans.

Another thing about SHALLOW GRAVES is how awesome Breezy is as a narrator. She truly read me into the book, I was a fly on the wall, the unmentioned secondary character who was with her every step of the way. And for those who are looking for "diverse" characters, know that Breezy is Asian, a brilliant girl who has her heart set on NASA, has a reputation in school, but nothing out of the ordinary as far as being a teenage girl goes. To say that Breezy is no longer the same is a huge understatement, dying has really put things in perspective for our girl and I look forward to seeing how much father she's going to grow despite hiding in the shadows, being vigilante of sorts.

SHALLOW GRAVES's Breezy (aka KWallace) has such a compelling voice. I found the world creepy, horrifying, and fascinating at the same time. KWallace really captured the kind of monsters that I find scary, there's nothing novel or cute about her creatures. And I'm not just talking about Breezy, the humans are just as vicious if not more cruel than their supernatural counterparts. I love how dark the story is and how much I want more of it. KWallace, you're definitely on my watch list now.










Talk Supe


38 comments:

  1. Glad you loved this so much! I think you liked it more than I did but I did still like it with all it's strangeness.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! It is very strange and I like the part where Breezy was discovering this world she's in and figuring out what the shit is happening

      Delete
  2. Ohh creepy!!! To wake up like that, yeah, creepy

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would've died again from a heart attack lol

      Delete
  3. wow it sound really well done and I'm glad you had such a great time with the story. The narration sounds well handled as well. Plus I love creepy stories! I'm curious about the mosnters!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't read much YA, I'm overly critical of the genre. So I/m pleasantly surprised by how fab ths was

      Delete
  4. You have me very curious about Breezy and this nebulous world that is creepy and fascinating, Braine. ;) I'm glad you had such a good(?) time with this YA! I'll be keeping an eye out for it. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You and/your kids will enjoy this. It's like a campfire story only longer

      Delete
  5. Wow, that is quite the premise/teaser Braine. Ok I usually don't do YA but I think I'm gonna get this one. Thanks! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't either, I'm picky with YA, I prefer it with minimal to no romance so this was perfect on several angles for me

      Delete
  6. I love these mysterious atmospheric type stories.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, I hope there's a sequel or something. It doesn't say so in either GR or her website

      Delete
  7. I love "monsters" of all kinds. This sounds like a great read.

    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love a good monster story too, and I don't like them romanticized, I want them dark and creepy

      Delete
  8. I wasn't sure about this one, Braine, but you've convinced me! I love dark and twisted books like this one!
    Great review, Braine!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There's always a sample, she has a good one up on her website, if you're undecided I suggest you give it a go and take it from there

      Delete
  9. This sounds like the perfect story for me right about now. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I've been unsure about this one but I have to admit that I like the sound of Breezy a lot. A good MC can really make a book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There's an excerpt on her website, you can start there :)

      Delete
  11. The compelling voice and darkmess sounds great in this one

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yup, it's one of it's many strong points

      Delete
  12. I really liked this one as well. I had a few issues, but overall it was a strong debut, I will definitely be watching this author.

    ReplyDelete
  13. This sounds like something I would really enjoy. Oh I love it when you feel like an unnamed secondary character. Yea, I'm adding this one to the wishlist right now!

    ReplyDelete
  14. YESSS! I just finished reading this (and scheduling my review) and it was so good! I liked how creepy and sad it was! I can't wait to read more from Wallace :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. This sounds fantastic. I think I'd love this one - need to find a copy ASAP!

    -Lauren
    www.letsgetbeyondtolerance.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  16. YAY we finally get an Asian protagonist! The serial killers and the monsters in this one sound super fascinating! Thanks for sharing, Braine!

    ReplyDelete
  17. An Asian heroine! YAAASSSS! I'm really excited for this book. This kinda reminds me of this Zombie Urban Fantasy book I read called My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland. She wakes up as a zombie but she doesn't know it at first, and they pretty much look like normal people too, lol. It's a really funny read, and you should check it out if you haven't. Great review, Braine!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Ooh, this sounds very unique! I will also tell Melissa about it, because this is absolutely her type of book!

    ReplyDelete
  19. The cover lover in me is like ooooooohhh. So glad to see diverse characters! Adding this one :)

    ReplyDelete
  20. I started this and loved the very beginning, but stopped not far in. I couldn't get into it, but I know it was me. So your review motives me to continue soon when I'm feeling it more.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Kills killers? I am all over that. I keep hearing bad things about this one but I am happy you liked it.

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!