Giveaways


Coming soon...

December 23, 2015

Loved It: Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

Series: O'Brien Family 1
Format: eGalley
Release Date: November 3, 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.


Cecy Robson is one of those authors who makes me want to read her books, but sets me off in a mini-panic attack. My first CRobson book was her (awesome) paranormal series. Weird Girls, I'm super in love with the series, but it never fails to shred me into little pieces after because it's so fracking angsty! My threshold for angsty reads is super low so it's with great trepidation that I started ONCE KISSED

  • First thing's first, ONCE KISSED is not angsty at all. So thank you, CRobson for that as I'm trying to end 2015 on a romantic mode. I also love that Curran and Contessa (how I love her name) have a past so it easily avoided any insta-something between them. 

  • I love how they're somewhat of an odd couple. Not exactly opposite, but they have enough differences to make their pairing interesting. Like Curran is such an extrovert and very outspoken, while Tessa is so meek and proper. Or at least on the outside she is. Girl's a freak behind closed doors though and I love how Curran makes her feel sexy and totally uninhibited in the bedroom because he makes her feel safe. 

  • I like the social issues reflected on ONCE KISSED that being all these controversies surrounding our police officers. Curran being a public servant found himself in the middle of one and I liked how that part of the story was handled. Very touching resolution. 

  • Tessa's dad! OMG! Major asshole! He is the Emperor of Douchelandia! The dude riled me up so bad, I had to take breaks during his scenes with Tessa because I was imagining my ereader to be his neck, my knuckles white from gripping it so hard! 

The romantic development and relationship between Curran and Tessa felt very natural too. I didn't necessarily find it sweet or romantic though the two were very attracted to each other and they do have a shared past. But they have personal issues that had them seeking comfort and company which drove them together which eventually led to them falling in love and their HEA. However there are two things that I didn't like in ONCE KISSED:

  • I wasn't completely satisfied with how Tessa's relationship with her dad was resolved. It was "told" rather than "shown" and I would've really loved to see Tessa, or Curran for that matter, go for the kill as far as her dad was concerned especially after that last thing he did. 

  • Instead of this epic face-off, there was a situation at the last possible moment which didn't feel cohesive to the story IMHO. It actually felt like overkill and an attempt to squeeze in more exciting events. I just didn't feel like it was necessary considering that this transpired at the 93% mark. 

ONCE KISSED is such an honest and sincere love story with a big slice of family, a hint of suspense, and a swirl of second-chance-in-romance. I really got invested in Tessa's story and I love how strong and confident she became in the end because of how Curran loved her. 

So which O'Brien brother is next?








Talk Supe


16 comments:

  1. I can do with a non-angsty read. I love Cecy's books so far.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yeah. Angst in NA is totally overdone. So I'm glad this one was romance for romance's sake.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh. Thank you for the review and feature, Braine. I'm so thrilled you became so invested in Curran and Tess's story!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh yay! Glad you enjoyed this one, too. Curran cracked me up and I'm with you about her dad- he needed a beat down. Love the O'Briens and I hope his DA brother gets his story next with the gal he offended in this story. That was funny how he tripped all over himself with that situation.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for the great review Braine this sounds perfect for a cold winter day after the holidays are over, if it ever gets cold here LOL. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Your review made me swoon, Braine! I love romances where the couple already know each other, because it makes the story more relatable.
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

    ReplyDelete
  7. I so need to read this one. However, what sold me was the low angst. YES! BTW, the emperor line? SO using that one. LOL

    Have a Happy Holiday!

    ReplyDelete
  8. One day I seriously need to try her out. Even with little quibbles they sound great :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh, I must try this one! I haven't read anything from her yet. I love when the romance and relationship feel natural.

    ReplyDelete
  10. One day I'll read her books. I know you love them!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Glad this was angst-free for you, sis! I have no patience for angsty books, either.

    Thank you so much for Phoenix Rising! It's been on my radar since you featured it on Steampunk Sundays, and I'm looking forward to some good steampunk fun! Merry Christmas! ♥

    ReplyDelete
  12. No insta-love and no angst? Definitely sounds like a win to me. I'll be adding this book to my list.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Sometimes I am okay with angst, but usually I prefer little angst to a lot of angst. So I am glad to hear this book had no angst at all. I like it when the characters are different and how it can make for an interesting pairing to see how those different personalities work together. This sounds like a good one. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I still haven't read the books I have on my Kindle by this author. Glad you enjoyed this one!

    ReplyDelete
  15. oh this one sounds so amazing to read!!! You have been super thrilled for it now.

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!