Giveaways


Coming soon...

February 17, 2015

Shots of YA: The Madman's Daughter Trilogy by Megan Shepherd

The Madman's Daughter Trilogy
Megan Shepherd
eGalley from the Publisher via Edelweiss
2013-2015
Balzer + Bray
YA Fantasy
Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense trilogy, inspired by the stories of H.G. Wells, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Mary Shelley, is perfect for fans of Libba Bray, Leigh Bardugo, and classic horror and science fiction. This collection also contains a sneak peek of The Cage, the first book in Megan Shepherd's gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race.

The Madman's Daughter, inspired by The Island of Dr. Moreau, is the story of Dr. Moreau's daughter Juliet, who travels to her estranged father's island only to encounter murder, madness, and a scintillating love triangle.

Her Dark Curiosity: Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves.

A Cold Legacy: With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy explores the things we'll sacrifice to save those we love . . . even our own humanity.


The Madman's Daughter: I'm impressed by the adaptation and MShepherd captured the moral ambiguity of The Island of Dr. Moreau. I love the tempered darkness Juliet's world presented and how her loyalty eventually became her greatest weakness. Juliet is an engaging heroine in the sense that I found myself easily pulled by her confounding state. I understand why after everything she still seeks his madman of a father with high hopes for something different from what she was made to believe. Of course, like in H.G. Wells' novel, Juliet's bound for disappointment.

Her Dark Curiosity: Following the events in Dr. Moreau's island, Juliet finds herself dying and dealing with a monster attack back in London. I love the Jekyll and Hyde aspect and the person assuming this role is quite fascinating. I absolutely love how MShepherd twisted the story turning it into one horrifying revelations. What ruined it for me though is Juliet and her blasted indecisive heart and that stupid love triangle YA authors just love to employ. *in a singsong voice* Oh I'm in love with someone else but since I'm lonesome how about I sleep with you for one night and forget about it the next day?

A Cold Legacy: or the Frankenstein novel. The darkest of the trilogy, and obviously where things came to a head. I still dont like Juliet, however the rest of the characters made up for my slight dislike of their heroine. Edward, in particular, is the most interesting of them all. I believe he is the soul of the trilogy, the Madman's legacy, and I hope he gets a spin-off. His character is very rich and I wouldn't mind reading more of his adventures. A Cold Legacy is the height of this trilogy's moral conflict, nature v. nurture, science v. religion, and MShepherd handled it well. 

The Madman's Daughter Trilogy: This project is very ambitious but MShepherd pulled it off brilliantly! This trilogy managed to capture the essence and feel of the gothic classics MShepherd based her books on. The novels are dark, foreboding, the theme still relevant, the conflict very provocative, and the resolution hit me hard. 

This series might be marketed as YA-Fantasy, but it doesn't have the telltale whimsy and immaturity I often find in young adult books. Juliet is naive, but her naivete stems from hopeful optimism than ignorance. More importantly, The Madman's Daughter Trilogy is a very intelligent series. Nurture v. nature issues are tricky to tackle, controversial even, but Juliet handled her father's genius and stigma in a very thoughtful manner, managing to both claim, condemn it, reshaping it as her own. There's nothing "young" about this series apart from the characters' ages and how chaste the romance is. MShepherd successfully wrote a series that will transcend taste and genre preferences. This is definitely one of the BEST "YA" series I've read in a long time. MShepherd, you're a genius, and if you're reading this, I hope I managed to convince you to try this series out.








36 comments:

  1. That's it, I am so making this trilogy a priority during March!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you find the time, its something you shouldn't pass up on

      Delete
  2. Fab review! You know this is one of those trilogies I come across time and time again and then wonder why haven't I read it ye??? I blame it on my overflowing TBR pile!!!

    Chanzie @ Mean Who You Are.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm doing my best to manage my TBR hence the.series review. I hope I maintain my momentum

      Delete
  3. Wasn't this creep-tastic. I read book one and two and still need to read the final book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh yes! I loved how she kept the gruesome parts intact.

      Delete
  4. I think that you enjoy Young Adult slightly more than I do, so to see you label this one was series of the best trilogies that this genre has to offer had definitely made me pause to take notice. The dislikable heroine has me somewhat worried though.

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh I am picky, but this was so well written. Also considering where she based the books on is a great feat, and the fact that she pulled it off so well is telling of her skill as a writer.

      Delete
  5. Wow. You are one of the first reviewers who has liked the entire series from beginning to end. Many reviewers were irriated with the second and third books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Juliet is annoying, I agree with that. But the story took a good turn and I loves how MShepherd answered the question being, will Juliet become a true Moreau or will she forge her own path? That made the irritating parts more.tolerable

      Delete
  6. I am curious, and I like what you have to say about those signs ;)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ohh I don't read YA much, liking the sound of these though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't either. The books were sitting on my TBR for so long I decided to take a chance and give it a go. Good thing it panned out

      Delete
  8. I've avoided these for some reason, but it sounds so well done!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I grabbed the first book because it was cheap, so hopefully I'll actually get to it soon. It's good to hear you enjoyed the entire trilogy, though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved how smart and clever her adaptations were

      Delete
  10. I saw these titles and never realized their connections to the classics. I love that. I'm with you on those exasperating love triangles. These are going on my list. Thanks

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know you love the classics, I hope you find these satisfactory

      Delete
  11. Oh if only the love triangle was not such a hindrance for me. Sigh.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was irritating. I just chose to ignore it

      Delete
  12. I enjoy YA fantasies, and I haven't heard of this one until now. This is right up my alley Braine. I'd never guessed how great they could be with those covers, not that hey are bad, but they don't seem to reflect the complex and dark plot inside.
    Well done!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The covers are intimidating for sure. Hopefully they revamp it

      Delete
  13. I've been meaning to read this series for forever and even have ARCs of one or two of the books. I just need to get to it! This year for sure. I really waited so that all three would be out and I could read them in a row... ;) Thanks for stopping by!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. These were surprisingly easy reads. Book 2 might have irritated me but it really got me invested in the story

      Delete
  14. Brilliant reviews, Braine. I'm happy to see the series is so well-written and intelligent. I have The Madman's Daughter on my bookshelf! ;) I'll be starting it sooner than later.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you end up likin it. I'm stumped, all I can say is it's good!

      Delete
  15. Hmmm I may have to check these out... I kept passing on these for some reason but I may need to re think that. Great reviews!

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Don't worry, I felt the same way too. UntilI decided to read them and totally loved it!

      Delete
  16. Glad you enjoyed the trilogy! The first book has been lying around on my Kindle for a while, and seeing how much you liked it, I think I need to bump it up on my reading list. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you will love this, Lee. I know you love the classics and she pulled this off really well.

      Delete
  17. I am definitely going to read this trilogy soon. I read a book by her recently called caged I got it as an earc & I absolutely adored this book!
    When I realized it was the same author of these three books/this series I kind of kick myself in the butt for not reading the series yet. I'm glad I saw this post today because now I know what the three books are in the series and what order to read them in.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're most welcome. And now I gotta look up Caged...

      Delete
  18. I've had this series on my radar since the second book came out . . . the pretty covers . . . that they're all pseudo retellings . . . but I think I needed to see all three of them together to really get interested. So well done, Braine. *grumbles* Not one, not two, but THREE books I absolutely must read. *tips hat*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you like them. You'r English Lit background is better than mine so you might find nuances I didn't catch.

      Delete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!