Giveaways


COMING SOON...

January 19, 2015

If you LOVE Karen Marie Moning's FEVER series, then you will like...


It's almost here! After being made to wait for two years and change, the next Fever book is just around the corner and I'm burning up to get my hands on it! And just like when Iced released 2.3 years ago, I'm sure that there will be a kind of hush in the blogosphere and Goodreads will be on BURNED overdrive as a lot of us will have our realities suspended as we devour Dani O'Malley's next book in earnest. 

I read the Fever series before Talk Supe came to be, before I formally learned of the urban fantasy/paranormal romance genre, and the fandom attached to Jericho Barrons. I have to say I experienced the world in its purest form meaning nobody recommended it to me, I didn't do any research about the series nor have I read any reviews for any of the books. So I dove in, binge read, fell in love with Karen Marie Moning and her world without any form of influence and from that moment on I was spellbound. I became her priya and proud to be so. 

Fever is on a league of its own, it's very unique and though it has its flaws, I believe that it's those same imperfections that made it so addictive and a total trip to read. KMM's myth, and world building simply put is so vivid you'd want to read yourself into the books. Perhaps the most outstanding quality of the series is her faedom, KMM's Seelie and Unseelie is not just Fever's trademark but has become the benchmark of all fae-based books moving forward. The fact that her fae are based on the real Celtic myth with KMM keeping things as authentic as the original stories made it even more enthralling.

And don't get me started on the men and the sexy as fuck fluckin' that went on in this book. Goodness gracious, just thinking about Mac using Jericho Barrons as her bucking bronco is giving me a lady boner! And Dani O'Malley and her *ehrm*... sexual tension with a much older Ryodan is shaping up to be quite the build up. People had so many opinions concerning this budding love affair as Dani's a teen, it was a bit scandalous but totally sensational btw. I'm totally biased in this situation but as a disclaimer, I do not condone this kind of affairs in real life. Anyway, just writing up this post is making my palms sweat and my heart beating fast from the sheer excitement and anticipation of reading BURNED!

I think this is one of the longest 24 hours of my life and honestly I think I'll be staying up a little late tonight if only to read the first chapter. Griping a little bit, I don't understand why they can't release BURNED last weekend where people don't usually work instead of Tuesday?! Anyways, I know a lot of us will be on a book hangover soon so here's a couple of recommendations that are more or less in the same block as Fever, hopefully it'll get you grounded and sated as we wait for the next book to come out. Fingers crossed, I'm praying Delacorte won't make us wait another two years.



Highlander by Karen Marie Moning

This series came before Fever and it's basically a time travel romance series involving men in kilts who managed to transport themselves in the 21st century and fell in love with modern day women. The books are fun, darn sexy, and filled with magic. It is also recommended you read this not just because it's penned by KMM but also due to the fact that the sexy druids in this series appears in Fever.




Cold Iron by D.L. McDermott

D.L. McDermott's fae gave me a solid throwback to Fever's Seelies and Unseelies. Cold Iron is paranormal romance series is set in Boston with the fae disguised as gangsters. These ancient beings have survived being cursed by Druids and though they war amongst themselves, they have a common goal and that is to stop their Queen from getting out of her prison starting The Great Hunt. If you're familiar with Celtic fae myths, this conflict should ring a bell. Not only that, Cold Iron series is well researched and her fae are anything but formidable and seductive. I personally love the treasure hunting element of this series as each book tells the tale of possessing a certain artifact that may or may not stop the fae Queen and her court from coming back into our world.



The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa

If paranormal romance/urban fantasy isn't exactly your cup of tea, with the exception of Fever, and you want something more sweet, light, romance ridden, and young adult, maybe Julie Kagawa's Iron Fey series is the next Fever for you. Forbidden love, family drama, prophesies, teen angst, magic, these and a lot more are what's in store for you courtesy of JKagawa's imagination. The myth is not as dark as Fever, to me it's more like Midsummer Night's Dream, but heck, any (Un)Seelie tale will work at this point! 




Shadow Reader aka McKenzie Lewis by Sandy Williams

And more badass fae hunting and action comes our way this time by Sandy Williams and her Shadow Reader series. Fae politics, rebellion, and yet another bout of forbidden love coupled with delicious romantic tension and kick-assery, these are some of the things you'll find in this Shadow Reader. I also love SWilliams' ambiguous characters, she'll have you flip flopping between the monarchy, the royalists, and the rebels as things are not exactly black or white.. The twist on the myth is great too, very unique to the series and something I'm sure a lot of you will appreciate once you start the series.



The Half-Light City by M.J. Scott

If you love a buffet of otherworldly characters like me then you should try M.J. Scott's Half-Light City series. I love the somewhat dystopic world Scott has created with fae and humans working together for the good while vampries and shifters are on the dark side spreading death and terror in the land. Right off the bat you get a sense of foreboding and nervous energy from the plot as the series counts down to the pending war between the camps. Aside from the awesome world Scott created and the non-stop action that happens, the villains in this series are menacing and definitely evil, just the way I love it!



Valerie Dearborn by Caroline Hanson

This series has minor fey elements, has a strong love triangle, an exasperating yet likable characters, and the antagonist reminding me a lot of the Unseelie Prince, V'Lane! Caroline Hanson's Valerie Dearborn is one of those series that will have you loving and hating it at the same time. Valerie is a flawed character however its those low moments that gives her the opportunity to shine and redeem herself in a big way. This series is sexy, angsty, and definitely engaging you must add it to your list and give it a try!

*Love is Darkness is still FREE via Amazon*



Do you have additional recommendations? By all means share it in the comments below and if you're reading BURNED tomorrow, I hope you enjoy the ride. Take your time and make it count, the next one after it is another long wait!






59 comments:

  1. I have book bloggers to thank for my addiction to KMM's Fever novels which just further proves that they are worth their weigh in gold! I pre-ordered the audiobook weeks ago, and it's so close I can almost taste it! I've read Sandy Williams' series, and made it through the first 3 installments in M.J. Scott's (gave up after that), but the others have been noted thanks to this post. I've been eyeing Highlander for too long.

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I heard the Highlander audios are good too because Phil Gigante is narrating it? So that might be an added bonus for you. It's really funny, sexy and very entertaining.

      Delete
    2. So very true!!! He reads all of the Highlander books & he is absolutely wonderful <3

      Delete
  2. I haven't read anything by her but it sounds addictive

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh it is! You must try this series, Brandi!!

      Delete
  3. I love hte Fever series but Dani was my least favorite character from it. I couldn't stand her from the moment we met her. So... I haven't picked up her spin-off yet. Maybe one say I will borrow it from the library.
    Kristin @ Book Sniffers Anonymous

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know what you mean, Dani's a jagged little pill. Burned is Mac's though so maybe that helps?

      Delete
  4. KMM's Fever series was my introduction to Paranormal. I was an absolute addict. I haven't read ICED but just know I'll be making a special trip to the bookstore tomorrow!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh grab Burned, Iced ended in a cliffie so you'll need the next book ASAP.

      Delete
  5. I'm glad it took me forever to pick up ICED. I read it in 2014 so I actually remember what happened and I'll enjoy BURNED more. As long as I pick it up soon and don't put it off.

    I picked up the Fever series because one of my clients (I worked in-home health care) got the books in the mail (she was addicted to the book clubs where they mail you books each month) and she said she wouldn't read paranormal so she gave them to me. It wasn't until later I knew about the hype. Actually I started when the second book came out (it was the second book in the box, I had to buy the first- I forgot that) so I got in there early and before the hype. But it was cool to be able to read them as they released.

    I enjoyed The Shadow Reader a lot but now I've forgot a lot so I might need to reread before I read the others.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's serendipity! I'm so glad you stuck with it and loved it. Dreamfever was kind of a slow start but it just went great after that. Shadow Reader is a great series!

      Delete
  6. Some solid recommendations up there. I cannot wait for Burned. I just got an email saying the copy I bought for my sister had shipped. I am getting the audio since I did Iced on Audio. I cannot wait. One more freaking day.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I obviously need to add more of these to my TBR pile. I didn't love the Fever series until the last books but I did love Barron so if these are anything like him, then I am in.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Barrons is worth reading the series that's for sure.

      Delete
  8. I have not picked up Karen Marie Moning's Fever series, but it looks like I need to add it to my TBR. Oh I also need to check out Shadow Reader, The Half-Light City, Highlander and Cold Iron series'. Dang you are just adding to my TBR pile. Darn you! ^_^

    ReplyDelete
  9. I read two mac books and gave up...dunno why anymore

    ReplyDelete
  10. Myself, my daughter and my husband have been hooked from day one! This series totally rocks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's so cool! Will you be listening to the audio together?

      Delete
  11. I need to read the Fever series, but I do have Cold Iron in my tbr pile.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Cold Iron is a solid read, I hope you get to it soon!

      Delete
  12. I'm just starting the Fever series, looks like I need to add more books to my TBR lol

    ReplyDelete
  13. Like you, I stumbled across the Fever series on my own and devoured the then first four books in a week leaving me dying for Shadowfever. I was enthralled with her fae world. I still need to read her Ice and the Highlander series. I haven't read any of the other fae series up there. I like the fae in Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega world. There are other series that have many paranormal races in them including fae that I like, but not strictly fae. I'll have to check out these others.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. PBriggs' fae world is great too! I love how she brought them to our world somewhat.

      Delete
  14. I haven't heard of these before. I'll have to check them out now. Thanks Braine.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Fever was my introduction to UF/PNR, and I really enjoyed binge reading the series. OMG, I remember trying to use the self-checkout at the library for Darkfever; my library's copy was the one with the, um, rather steamy cover, and the scanner refused to read the barcode. I had to take it to the desk and have a staff member check it out for me, LOL!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I bet you were blushing like a schoolgirl huh :P

      Delete
  16. Oh yes, some great series there! I love some, a little less the Scott one but well.... I need to try one though. thanks for the nice list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have yet to catch up with Scott's series so now I'm curious if it's going south

      Delete
  17. I LOVE! The Fever series, and I was a little but nervous about Burned, silly me..I LOVE it and I hope you do too! I highly recommend the audio. Phil Gigante is the best Barrons and Ryodan ever!!
    I loved the Iron Fey! Although I see some books I ahven't gotten yet..Myabe they were not on audio.
    I have a few of the other series on my waiting list, I'm glad to see they rock!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Phil Gigante does have a dreamy voice. He does her highlander series too right?

      Delete
  18. That's it, I have to read at least one of these series this year, even if it's just the Fever series. I've had it on my shelf for years and I need to finally break it, especially because she has a new series out! I'm glad you recommended some YA too, I love Julie Kagawa although I haven't read the Iron Fey series yet, only the spin-off.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I didn't like Iced and wasn't planning to read Burned... I hated the child abuse and the pedophilic relationship between Dany and Ryodan, I know it was not acted upon, but still, I hated it.
    But... Loupe's review for Burned made me change my mind. Now, I'm going to read it and soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can see why you'd feel that. I'm happy to report that Burned took care of that snag, I hope you give it a try

      Delete
  20. I have a few of Moning's highlander series books and plan to read that. I don't think the Fever series is for me though. But my tastes are always changing and I have the first book on my Kindle so maybe one day…

    Karen @For What It's Worth

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Start with Highlander then, it's very steamy and real funny! Who knows maybe after reading those you'll develop a taste for Fever

      Delete
  21. Great post Braine! I am keen for more of the Iron Fey books! Love Julie Kagawa!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm planning to sample her Vampire dystopian series soon, hopefully I can squeeze that in this week

      Delete
  22. Whoa, 2 years? I have the first book and planned to start the series soon. Now I'm kind of glad I waited. lol.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yup, Delacorte pushed the orig pub date twice I think.

      Delete
  23. I totally read this series before blogging too. This is when I realized what a book boyfriend was. Barrons, oh Barrons, how can I make you real???

    I didn't read ICED, I know, I am so bad. I have it but just kept putting it off. Guess I have to read it now so I can get Burned.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. We all have moments like that, blogging gets in the way sometimes LOL

      Delete
  24. Have you read it? Are you reading it right now? I wish I could drop everything to read it but I have a few reads to finish before I can dive in. I found and fell in love with KMM the same way you did, Braine. I'd started working at B&N and found her on the shelf one day. I've never been the same. *ha* I've read her Highlander series as well. But I'm going to have to check out your recommendations as I haven't read any of them.

    I hope you've enjoyed or are enjoying Burned!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get to Burned soon enough!

      Delete
  25. Haven't read any of her books yet..tried the first book in the Fever series , but couldn't get past the first chapter.

    I'll check out the others though...thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dream fever is a slow start but it gets better and better after. Maybe try the audio?

      Delete
  26. Can you believe that before today I have not read a KMM book?! I just started Darkfever TODAY! Just met Jericho Barrons TODAY! I'm loving it so far!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Never too late!!! I envy you, it's such a wonderous feeling discovering her world for the first time

      Delete
  27. Great thread, Braine! I've added Valerie Dearborn series to my Goodreads. I didn't know about it. I would add postapocalyptic UF by Celis T. Rono: Julia Poe Vampire Chronicles and Rhiannon's Law series by J.A. Saare

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for those recs! Next time I'll do a poll :D

      Delete
  28. I LOVE KMM Highlander series on audio. The narrator does great Scottish accents. I have book one of Iron Fey on audio, but haven't listened yet. I will soon. I'm trying to be better about listening to what I have and not by new for a while. :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've seen YouTube videos of Phil Gigante and his voice IS so dreamy!

      Delete
  29. I loved the Highlander & Fever Series! I'm looking for new book suggestions though... The stuff I'm finding just doesn't compare. As much as Scotland and Ireland and magic are SO up my alley, that's not what I loved most about this series. I loved how the characters interacted: they argued, they were funny, they were sexy... I'm very not into angst or love triangles. Does anyone have some suggestions for me?

    ReplyDelete
  30. Ok, so I just finished Feversong in the Fever series by Karen. I know theres at least one more set to publish in January of 2017. Do we know if there's any others set to be published the following year in 2018 as part of the Fever series? It says so on Goodreads but it's untitled and *shrugs* Goodreads is often wrong.

    Likewise, I JUST finished Into the Dreaming of the Highlander series, also by Karen. It was more of a novella than an actual novel. Are there anymore Highlander books that we know of set to come out in the future? Or is that series done with as well?

    I really hope Karen continues exploring the Fae world. She does it so well, and her writing is so unique and amazing to read that I really hope she continues to do so.

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!