Giveaways


Winners Choice
ends 5.31

October 9, 2014

Liked It: Once Perfect by Cecy Robson

Series: Shattered Past 1
Format: eGalley
Release Date: October 7, 2014
Publisher: Flirt
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: New Adult
His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.




There are a few paranormal authors who jumped into the New Adult bandwagon the latest being Nalini Singh, Kristen Callihan, and now Cecy Robson is joining their ranks. Part of me is excited and curious but I must admit that this "trend" made me nervous because I am not the biggest NA reader/lover out there. The themes depicted in NA fiction, turbulent, angsty, let's-fluck-our-super-sad-you'll-do-an-ugly-cry life and love stories, was unsuccessful in making a fan out of this reader. Yes I'm prejudiced and maybe even close minded but once in a while, I do pick up one for fun. This time around it's for ONCE PERFECT a melodramatic story about a former heiress turned bar waitress and an ex-military, ex-con turned bouncer who found love and hope in each other's lives. 

I liked ONCE PERFECT because...

  1. It was more about the romance and less about the sex. So THANK YOU CRobson for not insulting our intelligence and for stressing that sex may be important but it's good and honest conversations that resolves the problem and not senseless boinking.

  2. That said, there was some boinking and it was more emotional and intimate than scorching hot. 

  3. ONCE PERFECT didn't dwell on the tragic backstories of Mateo Tres Santos and Evelyn Preston, rather the focus remained on depicting how they're moving on from their sad histories and making the most of what they currently have. Respect!

  4. Things burned slow and steady for Mateo and Evelyn which I prefer. They took their time in discerning their feelings for each other and developing trust before they took it to the next level. 

  5. The conflict-resolution wasn't inflated so the story didn't have extreme highs and lows, the mood, feel, and tone was even for the most part. 

I didn't love it because...

  1. The characters felt like contemporary duplicates of CRobson's UF series, The Weird Girls: nursing students, steady Alpha males, mouthy BFF's, etc. Evelyn Preston reminded me a LOT of Celia Wird and her besties, Noelle and Lourdes were versions of Taran Wird... weird :|

  2. Evelyn and Mateo are cool but they didn't excite me. Aside from their bar duties, Evelyn's schooling and Mateo's MMA fights, these two didn't have facets to their characters. 

  3. Mateo is hot and can even be considered attractive but I guess he's not my type. He didn't have a lot of personality IMO. 

  4. It's both funny and annoying how Evelyn was so terrified of having Mateo's giant penis inside of her like it's going to split her in two... but then again if it IS a giant member, I would be scared too. 

So ONCE PERFECT is an okay contemporary romance debut but it didn't rouse my emotions and had me holding my breath for the next one. It has some good things going on for it but it lacked a certain intensity to make it a compelling read for me. And I'm not asking for Drama, not at all, just a bit more bounce to Evelyn and Mateo would be enough.










34 comments:

  1. Well, I have read now 2 different kinds of reviews. I'm planing to pick this one up if it gets published on audio. I'm now curious to see how I like it. It seems to me that it'll come down to how I like the characters, and I do enjoy my share of NA, but since I've listen to a lot NA tiltes I might end up being more critical.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy it more than I did. I just didn't connect with them on a personal level

      Delete
  2. I think I liked this one a little better than you, but I don't read that many NA. I was touched by their story.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm with you on that one, I have big respect on how they remade their lives and are not living in the past.

      Delete
  3. Ah bummer. Sucks when they don't give ya a little thrill. The intimate boinking sounds fun though ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aside from the actual boinking I did love how that part of their relationship developed gradually. They didn't fuck their shit away like some NA couples, they know what sleeping together means and took that seriously and I love that

      Delete
  4. Ha ha, I am giggling about the giant penis. I think I forgot that part of the story. I am with you, I liked this but wasn't overly impressed it was more of the same in the NA that desperately needs a breath of fresh air.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I did a double take on that part, I can't believe it was that big of a deal for her.

      Delete
  5. I like her stuff but this is just so NA

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Come on, aren't you curious just a wee bit? :D

      Delete
  6. I am so glad that you liked this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It has a few okay stuff going on for it

      Delete
  7. Love the cover and the way if focuses a lot on relationship instead of just the steamy

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am so over the smut in NA seriously! If YA deals with first love, NA more or less deals with true love so I want it to be about that than the many ways they go horizontal

      Delete
  8. The next time I'm in the mood for a contemp romance I might give this one a try.

    ReplyDelete
  9. NA can be tricky. ..I for one can do without all the angsty and at times annoying characters. I'm laughing at your split in two line, whew :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Psh, wouldn't you be scared? Like that's almost PNR right? Giant penis?

      Delete
  10. Replies
    1. I don't want to be cut in half like that

      Delete
  11. Aww, that's too bad, Braine. I know you like Robson's Weird Sisters. At least there were some things she did *right* so you could find some enjoyment in the story. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Gotta stay objective somehow... then again NA isn't really my thang

      Delete
  12. I can see where the recycled characters would be a drag. A lot of authors do that! Man, that cover is NICE though. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't help but compare, I think that's inevitable when a favorite author writes either a new series or in a different genre all together. maybe that's why some of them opt for pseudonyms, keeps things objective

      Delete
  13. Giant penis :snort: I enjoyed this but didn't love it. I agree she didn't fall into all the NA cliches but did feel the characters were stereotyped. Great review

    ReplyDelete
  14. Great review! The giant penis comment is way too funny! NA is not my favorite, but I might give her Weird Girls series a try.

    ReplyDelete
  15. You have to be a strong girl to survive these giant penis's found in books lol

    TBH - Evelyn sounds like that nervous/needs protecting but she's spunky! type of girl I don't like reading about.

    Karen @ For What It's Worth

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hahaha IKR?! Like man, all these giant penises flopping around man, scary!

      I feel ya re: Evelyn

      Delete
  16. You comment about the penis was very funny and... accurate. :)
    By the way, I like this format for review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hahaha I even quoted that on Goodreads because I can't believe she said that!

      Thanks, Marcela, this is easier, I can get choppy and lazy with this format.

      Delete
  17. I'm not a big reader in the contemporary genre even if I follow the other and enjoy their UF/PNR work I'm always leery about them jumping into this area. It can always be hit or miss with me. Nice review Braine. Thank you.

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!