Giveaways


Coming soon...

March 31, 2014

If You Love J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood, Then You'll Like...

April 1 is a VERY special day for paranormal fans and vampire lovers, it's almost like a holiday!

Why? Because the much anticipated Black Dagger Brotherhood novel, THE KING, Wrath's book, hits the shelves tomorrow! So expect a lot of Goodreads, FB & Twitter updates about THE KING because a lot of us readers will be taking a short trip to Caldwell, New York, in support of King Wrath and Queen Beth's reign as crazy haters try and take the throne away from these two lovely monarchs.

BDB is special to me because it's one of the first PNR/UF series that I've read and reviewed for Talk Supe. I didn't know what I was stumbling into back then, all I know was that I was in the lookout for a vampire series to read. Didn't know I found something VERY special and unique until later on.

I'll be honest, I'm not a fan of all the books, some of the Brother's stories were either disappointments or complete WTF's. I've always had a problem with the original villains, the lessers, and how they're more of a nuisance than a serious threat; how the Scribe Virgin can be such a hypocrite sometimes not to mention she's not the greatest mother (how can you let your son be mated to a ghost?!); and some other petty stuff.

But it's the (Bro)ROMANCE that I'm so addicted to! The complicated, tense and sometimes homoerotic relationships, the highly entertaining shit talking, and other borderline jazz that makes BDB such awesome reads. Not to mention the unconditional love and loyalty these Brothers have for each other, what more could I ask for? 

There's no doubt that J.R. Ward dominates this genre with BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD, an incomparable and superb paranormal romance series, with fans always wanting for more and looking elsewhere for something similar to help them get through the long wait til the next book. 

Below are some suggested series that are more or less along the lines of BDB. I'm not saying that it'll be exact but these series have certain elements about it that echoes some parts of BDB



Fallen Angels by J.R. Ward

This series is the natural go-to for fans as The Fallen Angels' world collides with BDB. Aside from the location, Caldwell, New York, The Fallen Angels shares the same snark, level of male camaraderie and homo-eroticism of BDB. However, none of these Angel books are as stellar as their vampire cousins plot wise. On that same thread, I love J.R. Ward's wit and writing voice so even if I don't care much for her Angels, I still devour this series just to get another hit from the Warden.




Chronicles of Yavn by Elisabeth Staab

Chronicles of Yavn (Yet Another Vampire Novel, get it?) by Elisabeth Staab is about warrior vampires and their efforts to protect their kind from bad wizards who are in a mission to annihilate their already dwindling race. Aside from featuring vampires, this series is snarky, funny, and downright sexy. Like the Brothers, Staab's vamps are their own race, they each have their own abilities, they're ruled by a monarchy and are embroiled in a vicious war. What makes this unique from BDB is the myth and mating lore plus I find Staab's villains, the Wizards, better developed, utilized and explored than the lessers.




All The King's Men by Donya Lynne

I've only read Return Of The Assassin in this entire series but it's enough to leave a strong impression. From what I've managed to get out of just one book, AKM has a huge and complex series plot, the relationships between characters are very angtsy and complex plus Donya Lynne added some dark erotic elements to make her series extra spicier. The world building is great and the characters that I've met in book 5 are distinct and their combination is unlike any other series I've ever read. I wish I could tell you more, I'll let the Goodreads and Amazaon star ratings speak for itself.


While the AKM series has proven to elicit powerful, positive emotional responses from readers, and book two of the series, Heart of the Warrior, converted many traditional romance readers into fans of the male/male romance genre, the series, as a whole, isn’t for everyone. The world of AKM contains elements of alternative lifestyles, including BDSM, homosexuality, voyeurism, exhibitionism, and multiple partners. Language can, at times, be harsh and contain profound incidents of profanity. The more tormented the character, the more offensive their language. That’s just how it is. - Goodreads series description



Sons of Wrath by Keri Lake

Demons! Yup, Keri Lake's creature of choice are demons. Crazy, snarky, hunky, hornless but horny demons who are real paternal brothers, living in the same house, battling different otherworldly creatures at night (mainly werewolves) while managing to find their one true love on the side. Sons of Wrath is one of my favorite paranormal series and I love it to bits! The world building is amazing, the dialogue is rich and entertaining plus and the characters drool worthy. I never thought I'll love demons and would ever want to be mated to one, (dibs on Gavin... SERIOUSLY!) but after meeting Keri Lake's kids, I'd willingly offer myself up to be their bride. 




The Szolites by N. Isabelle Blanco

N. Isabelle Blanco is a voracious reader, a fangirl and a self-confessed BDB fan like us, she's also a very talented writer. N. Isabelle Blanco successfully created her own pantheon in The Szolites and boy, are her Gods and Goddesses a crazy bunch! The Szolites is character driven, the dialogue witty and snarky, her characters are archetypes of western pagan gods with a big dollop of contemporary qualities to make them current and appealing. She has a wicked sense of humor and can dish out super sexy love scenes, her myth is fresh made even more unique by her exotic character names. I highly recommend The Szolites to all paranormal romance readers. 




DISCLAIMER: Now please note that these series that I've recommended are books that I've actually read and since I haven't really read a LOT of paranormal romance, I know that my repertoire is limited. That said, I'm on the lookout for more so please, feel free to recommend a book or series that you feel will have the same appeal as the epic BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD.






54 comments:

  1. I read the first few books in the BDB series before I started blogging. I tried to read more later, after I had been blogging awhile and couldn't get into it. I think it was my mood though. I really did enjoy the first few even though PNR isn't always my thing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can't blame you, some of the books have wonky parts.

      Delete
  2. the last couple of BDB books weren't my favs, but I'm going to try The King because I have such love for Wrath & Beth. Thanks for suggestions and hell, I might have to stay off of Twitter #nospoilery lols.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, she's changed her storytelling style in the latest releases.

      Delete
  3. I fear I gave up on Ward a few books back

    ReplyDelete
  4. I keep thinking that I should try this author, but I keep hesitating, I just don't know if her stuff is for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She has contemporary romances too under Jessica Bird, that may appeal to you better if trying her writing is your goal

      Delete
  5. I love the brothers for their bromance too! That interaction between them all is what pulls me back time and again. I've got to make sure I finish my current read tonight so that I'm ready for The King tomorrow :D

    Oh and thanks Braine! Your suggestions (snarky gets me each time) just upped my TBR and book budget for this week LOL!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think I bought the first book in the Brotherhood this weekend . i have been in a paranormal/UF mood lately.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, that was a great flash sale!

      Delete
  7. I can't wait for tomorrow. *jumps up and down* Only... 6 more hours!!! And, I probably won't even be able to read it much. Boo! :( I usually recommend Keri Lake's series too when peeps ask me for a series that's similar to BDB. I <3 them both!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, Sons of Wrath is soooo awesome!!!

      Delete
  8. I need to catch up before I can read The King :(

    ReplyDelete
  9. I am over half way through The King and I am LOVING IT!!! LOTS of pov's. LOTS!!!!!!! Bad ass thick book :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ugh! I dislike those! The only multiple POV of hers that I liked was Wrath and Rehvenge's book

      Delete
    2. OO I can see that she is wanting to tell us so much so she is bringing it about in this fashion. I love your 'ugh!' ha! I loved getting to Iam's pov, he is so cute :D

      Delete
  10. OO I think I put you onto Elisabeth Staab, didn't I? One thing I didn't know was YAVN = Yet another Vampire Novel. I did wonder about what that meant. Ha! I have Hunter By Night to read. WeeEeee!! xxx

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes you did Matey and I'll be forever grateful for the introduction. Not only are the books awesome, EStaab is wonderful too!

      Delete
  11. You've nailed some of the highs and lows I have with the series and I agree, its a definitive vampire series that others are always compared to. I also like for the Bro-mance, alpha male, action, romances: Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed, Rebecca Zanetti's Dark Protectors, Claire Ashgrove's Templar Knights, Rosalie Lario's Demons of Infernum, Zoe Forward's Scimitar Magi, and Nalini Singh's Guild Hunters. I'm sure there are tons more, but that's all I can think of at the moment.

    Enjoy the King! I still need to finish the book before it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I will take note of your recs, of all those you've mentioned I have Zoe Forward's so I'll start with those.

      Delete
  12. Wooo! I am LOVING the excitement for The King! I've been reading my butt off, trying to catch up. I'm up to Lover Mine, and I like it a lot so far. And yeah, the ghost thing cooled my jets for V. I think my fav book is still Rhage's, and his beast!
    But anyway, I'm sure tomorrow will be an exciting day. I can't wait to see everyone's enthusiastic updates!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My least fave is Phury's followed by Rhage's LOL

      Catch up lady!

      Delete
  13. I've heard such good things about this series. I really hope to get to it one of these days.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She has contemporary romance books too! I know you prefer those types than PNR

      Delete
  14. I haven't read any of the BDB, but I bought the first 7 books this weekend when they were the kindle daily deals. I've been wanting to try them for awhile, so it's perfect timing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yup those were great deals, I'm glad to hear you got all of them :)

      Delete
  15. they're almost all new to me, but one thing is sure I haven't read any even the Ward series. I have them in French, the five first books in fact but I still need to read them. Thanks for the choices.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well start with Dark Lover at least, do a taste test :D

      Delete
  16. From the series you recommend the only ones I have read are J.R. Ward. I need to check the others. Thanks for the recs.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I haven't read BDBB series yet but I have the first 6 on my shelf in a boxed set! I shall devour them soon, the only book I've read by J.R. Ward is Covet which is like later in the series. I hope I'll read some of them soon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Covet was good, I agree, Davina, the villainess in that series, is funny!

      Delete
  18. So I haven't started the BDB series, but mostly because they are just so many of them! I hope to start them eventually since so many people love them. Although I am very curious about the fallen angel series you mentioned, since I have a soft spot for them.

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Did you catch the deal the other day? I hope you got book 1 at least

      Delete
  19. Haven't heard and haven't read the BDB series before but thanks to you it has reached my lovely ears (har har). I'm not sure when I'll be reading them, but I'll be buying them on Amazon as soon as my wallet fattens a little bit :) There are a lot though O_O Might be tough to check them all out at once, but hey, I'm a trooper! I can do it! :D

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Try Dark Lover, the first one at least, that's a solid series intro

      Delete
  20. I keep going back and forth as to whether I'll read The King. I've been disappointed in the past few books. Way too many pov's. I never read the Lessers parts lol

    I'm sure I'll crack under the pressure and buy it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have the same sentiments.. The King has that too and it really got in the way of Beth and Wrath's story

      Delete
  21. The bromance is pretty awesome. I've fallen off the BDB the last couple books but man I really enjoyed those earlier ones. I'm working on her Angels now :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The bromance is this series hook. I'm not a fan of the last few books either... how are you liking Fallen Angels? I didn't like Rapture

      Delete
  22. Thanks! I have to check some of these out. Have you read the Midnight Breed by Lara Adrian? I thought those were pretty close to the BDB. I can't wait for the next Fallen Angels book :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lara Adrian, she's another author I want to try. I promise, I'll be better starting June, no more blog tours so I can catch up

      Delete
  23. I still haven't read BDB but everyone tells me I need to. Thanks for putting more books on my tbr.

    ReplyDelete
  24. Great Post ! Looking forward to J.R.Wards new book.
    Joelle @http://angelswithattitudebookreviews-joelle.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  25. This was my first Urban Fantasy series too! :) I am actually behind on the series. I started reading Lover Reborn and was bored with it. I would skip it entirely but I importants things happen in it!

    I loved her Fallen series too, even though I am behind on that one as well. I will check out the other books you mentioned too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That was looonnngggg... No One didn't appeal to me much but as always, it's the bromance that I enjoy the most

      Delete
  26. Braine, you are KILLING me, LOL. I've just now added like 5 ENTIRE series to my TBR list. Why? you ask. B/c I completely agree. BDB is all about the bromance. A lot of times, I could take of leave the romance b/c Ward likes a lot of agony and misunderstanding before the HEA, and that's gets tiresome, but the BROMANCE. I LIVE for it. So now I have to check out all the new series b/c we're clearly on the same wavelength. Grumble, grumble ;)

    ReplyDelete

My reviews are subjective & does not reflect that of Talk Supe's followers.

Also I LOVE commenting back so if you're checking out a post, leave a line or two and I promise to visit your blog back. Let's feed each other's blogger soul!